You are at Arjuna awards(2014)

Arjuna awards(2014)

Arjuna awardees(2014):

Akhilesh Varma (Archery), Tintu Luka (Athletics), HN Girisha (Paralympics), V Diju (Badminton), Geetu Ann Jose (Basketball), Jai Bhagwan (Boxing), R Ashwin (Cricket), Anirban Lahiri (Golf), Mamta Pujari (Kabaddi), Saji Thomas (Rowing), Heena Sidhu (Shooting), Anaka Alankamany (Squash), Tom Joseph (Volleyball), Renubala Chanu (Weightlifting) and Sunil Rana (Wrestling)

After becoming the top all-rounder of the world in Tests recently, Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is all set to be honoured with the prestigious Arjuna award on the Independence Day.

The 27-year-old Chennai born cricketer will receive the award from the Indian government for outstanding achievements in national sports alongside 14 other athletes.

The Selection Committee headed by the former Indian cricketer Kapil Dev has shortlisted 15 candidates for the Arjuna award while none of the sportpersons will receive the Khel Ratna award this year.

The cricketer to get the Arjuna Award last year was Virat Kohli. A total of 46 cricketers, including women, have been conferred the sporting honour.

Ashwin became the fastest bowler in 80 years to complete 100 wickets in his 19th Test last November against the West Indies at the Wankhede Stadium here, the farewell game of Sachin Tendulkar.

The 27-year-old Chennai-born tweaker overtook the previous Indian record of one of the members of the famed spin quartet - off-spinner Erapalli Prasanna - to reach the 100- wicket mark in one fewer Test.

Ashwin, who is also a useful batsman, has taken 104 wickets in Tests, 106 in 79 ODIs and 25 wickets in the same number of T20 internationals.

Related News


Recent Galleries


Recent News