You are at Bhuvneshwar Kumar Wins LG Peoples Choice Award

Bhuvneshwar Kumar Wins LG Peoples Choice Award

India fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has won this year’s LG People’s Choice Award. He now becomes only the fourth cricketer to win this coveted prize after Sachin Tendulkar, who was the first-ever recipient in 2010, Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara, who won it in 2011 and 2012, and India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who won it last year. 

Other nominees for this year’s LG People’s Choice Award were England women’s captain Charlotte Edwards, Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews and South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn. 

Reacting to the news, Kumar said: “First of all, I’d like to thank each and every one who has voted for me in the LG People's Choice Award. This award means a lot to me as I didn’t get it only for my individual performance but because of the love and support of my fans. 

“Where I am today is because of my parents and coaches, and whatever they taught me in life as a person. I’d also like to thank my team-mates because without their support this won’t have been possible. So, thank you so much.” 

The award was introduced at the LG ICC Awards 2010 in Bengaluru, with fans voting for their favourite player either through the official website or via Twitter using the hashtag #LGICCAwards. Voting commenced on 8 October and closed at midnight UAE time on 30 October. 

The short-list was nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts, which is headed by ICC Cricket Committee Chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble. Other members of the panel are Jonathan Agnew, a former England international and now a respected broadcaster/journalist, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, and Betty Timmer, former Chair of the ICC Women’s Committee. 

Related News


Recent Galleries


Recent News