You are at Women's World T20 Squad Announced

Women's World T20 Squad Announced


South Africa women will begin their campaign against Australia in Nagpur on March 18. Cricket South Africa (CSA), on Thursday (February 25), named their squad for the Women's World Twenty20, to be played in India from Match 15.

Led by Mignon du Preez, South Africa will face Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Ireland in Group A but Hilton Moreeng, the head coach, is pleased with the balance of youth and experience in the squad and expects his team to qualify for the knockouts.

"From a selection point of view and from the preparation we have done in the last two years, we think we have selected the best squad for the conditions that we will be faced with," Moreeng said."It's a well-balanced squad with lots of experience and a bit of youth. We've given ourselves the best chance to play well and compete, as well as to qualify for the knock out phase," he added.

In the previous edition of the tournament in 2014, South Africa caused an upset, knocking out New Zealand on the way to their first-ever semifinal appearance. Moreeng believes there's opportunity to repeat performance in India, citing the high confidence within the squad.

"Players learn all the time and what better way to learn than from the ones who have done so before. We've played some of the top teams in the world of late. We have just finished a series against England and are busy with one against West Indies now. The exposure to top-notch players is invaluable for what we are trying to prepare for.

"The confidence in the team is much higher now, we all know that on the day in a T20 match anything can happen, one over can swing the game either way so the execution of our skills on the day will be key." South Africa women will begin their campaign against Australia in Nagpur on March 18.

Squad: Mignon du Preez (c), Trisha Chetty, Odine Kirsten, Moseline Daniels, Marizanne Kapp, Dane van Niekerk, Dinesha Devnarain, Chloe Tryon, Sune Luus , Shabnim Ismail, Masabata Klaas, Ayabonga Khaka, Matshipi Marcia Letsoalo , Lizelle Lee, Yolani Fourie.

Related News


Recent Galleries


Recent News