You are at Suresh Prabhu Promises Modernization Of Rail Infra...

Suresh Prabhu Promises Modernization Of Rail Infra In AP

Union Minister for Railways Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu said that the holy city of Tirupati was on the priority for rail development and in the next one month, a concrete plan for the purpose would be framed for the same.

He was speaking after laying the foundation stone for New Crossing Station at Tiruchanur in Tirupati on Saturday. He expressed his happiness at the development of Tiruchanur, between Renigunta and Tirupati as a Crossing Station, which would enable decongestion of train movements in Tirupati area. He stated that Infrastructure was the key to the growth of a state and Railways play an important role in this purpose. In tune with the same, plans are being formulated for Infrastructural development in Andhra Pradesh too, he said and assured that the interest of the state will be properly taken care by the Railways.

The Union Minister also informed that he was holding a meeting with Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu to formulate rail developmental plans for the State.

Elaborating on the mission of Indian Railways, Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu stated that Indian Railways is set to invest Rs.1.21 Lakh Crs. towards Infrastructural growth during the current fiscal, way ahead of the earlier years before 2014. The target is to complete 19 kms of new Railway line each day, in the next two years, he added. The Minister was thankful for the support extended by the Members of Parliament towards implementation of the growth plans of Indian Railways.

Earlier, in his welcome address, South Central Railway General Manger Ravindra Gupta spoke on the plans of the Zone for development of Railways in the region. He acknowledged the initiative of Minister for Railways in upgrading of Tiruchanur as a Crossing Station to smoothen rail services in Tirupati area. The General Manager reiterated that SCR will continue to deliver qualitative service to the rail users.

The function was attended also AP's Ministers B. Gopala Krishna Reddy and Kamineni Srinivas, Chittoor Zilla Parishad chairperson Geervani Chandra Prakash, MPs Dr. V. Vara Prasada Rao, N. Sivaprasad, M.Murali Mohan, Gokaraju Gangaraju, MLC Y. Srinivasulu Reddy, TTD Trust Board Chairman Chadalawada Krishnamurthy, a host of other public representatives, dignitaries and senior railway officials.

Related News


Recent Galleries


Recent News