You are at Turn-out falls in Telangana, AP bypolls, polling p...

Turn-out falls in Telangana, AP bypolls, polling peaceful

The bypolls in Medak Lok Sabhaconstituency in Telanganaand Nandigama assembly segment in Andhra Pradeshtook place without a single untoward incident today but the turn-out was less than what it was during the general elections in May. 

Medak recorded 66 per cent voter turn-out against 75 per cent in May, while 69.49 per cent electors exercised their franchise in Nandigama compared with 85 per cent last time. 

"The polling passed off peacefully at both places without any incident. Counting of votes will be taken up from 8 am on September 16," chief electoral officerBhanwar Lal said. 

Narsapur assembly segment in Medak recorded the highest 77 per cent polling, followed by Dubbaka (68 pc), Gajwel (67 pc), Siddipet (66 pc) and Sangareddy (64 pc). Patancheru recorded the lowest 52 per cent polling. 

Telangana Rashtra Samitipresident K Chandrasekhar Rao, who resigned from Medak Lok Sabha seat after becoming the state's Chief Minister, cast his vote at Chintamadaka village under Siddipet segment while minister T Harish Rao also cast his vote in Siddipet. 

Harish claimed TRS would win the seat with the same margin (of over two lakh votes) though the polling percentage had fallen. "Yes, Medak by-election result will be like a referendum on our government's performance," Harish said.

Related News


Recent Galleries


Recent News