You are at AP to Smart Cities List!

AP to Smart Cities List!

AP to send 14 Names for Smart Cities

Andhra Pradesh state government is all set to send a list of 14 cities to the Centre that it wants to develop as smart cities.The list of proposed fourteen includes 12 District Headquarters and two other cities such as Rajahmundry and Tirupati .

The Central government is yet to finalize the number of town and cities in AP that would be selected for the  smart cities scheme, but Chief Minister has started lobbying to get as many 14 smart cities in the state.

But as per sources Centre is likely to consider only five among the 14. Cities like Visakhapatnam, Tirupati, the CRDA region(Krishna and Guntur), Krishnapatnam-Nellore and Kurnool might appear in the final list of union government. The list will be soon send to union urban development ministry.

The smart city concept based on four pillars includes  Physical Infrastructure ,Social Infrastructure, Institutional Infrastructure and Economic Infrastructure As per the proposal each city to be dotted with footpaths, bicycle tracks and having 24/7 electricity, water and a high quality and high frequency mass transport system. The Central government recently convened a meeting of all state urban development ministers in Delhi to explain the concept and seek suggestions on smart cities.

Related News


Recent Galleries


Recent News