You are at Tamil Nadu: Complete List Of 28 Ministers In Amma'...

Tamil Nadu: Complete List Of 28 Ministers In Amma's Cabinet!

Tamil Nadu's matriarch Amma or J Jayalalithaa won her second term as the Chief Minister of the state and she is scheduled to take oath on May 23. She will be sowrn in as the CM at Madras University Centenary Stadium in Chennai and had met the governor K Rosaiah at the Raj Bhavan to stake claim of the government on Saturday. Jayalalithaa has had the reputation of cherry picking her cabinet and reserving key portfolios for those whom she feels are loyal to her, more than even the party.

On May 23, as Amma takes oath, so will the other Ministers in her Cabinet, which will comprise of all the heroes of AIADMK, who she thinks are deserving of key positions. According to reports, the Governor has approved of 29 ministers in the list drawn up by her, and here is a list of key Tamil Nadu Ministers along with their portfolios:
Jayalalithaa – Chief Minister; Minister in charge for Public, IAS, IPS, IFS, General Administration, District Revenue Officers, Police and Home
O. Panneerselvam – Finance, Personnel and Administrative Reforms
Dindigul Srinivasan – Forest
Edappadi K. Palaniswami – Highways, Public works, and minor ports
Sellur K. Raju – Cooperation and labour
Thangamani – Electricity, prohibition and excise
V.P. Velumani – Municipal Administration, Rural Development and Implementation of Special Programme
D. Jayakumar – Fisheries
C.Ve. Shanmugam – Law, Courts and Prisons
K.P. Anbazhagan – Higher Education
Dr. V. Saroja – Social Welfare, Nutritious Noon Meal Programme
K.C. Karuppannan – Environment
M.C. Sampath – Industries
R. Kamaraj – Food, Civil Supplies and HR&CE
O.S. Manian – Handlooms and Textiles
Udumalai Radhakrishnan – Housing and Urban Development
C. Vijayabhaskar – Health and Family Welfare
S.P. Shanmuganathan – Milk and Dairy Development
R. Duraikannu – Agriculture and Animal Husbandry
Kadambur Raju – Information and Publicity
R.B. Udayakumar – Revenue
K.T. Rajenthra Bhalaji – Rural Industries
K.C. Veeramani – Commercial Taxes
P. Benjamin – School Education, Sports and Youth Welfare
Vellamandi N. Natarajan – Tourism
S. Valarmathi – Backward classes and minority welfare
V.M. Rajalakshmi – Adi Dravidar and Tribal Welfare
Dr. M. Manikandan – Information and Technology
M.R. Vijayabhaskar – Transport

Jayalalithaa proved the exit polls and widespread speculation wrong and seized power once again, breaking the jinx of anti-incumbency that had gripped the state since way back in 1977. Amma's party won 136 out of 232 constituencies, where the polling was held on May 16. The Indian National Congress-DMK alliance which had been predicted to seize power, could only grab 86 seats. However, AIADMK's count has actually reduced from the 2011 count of 150, while the DMK has gained some seats.

Related News


Recent Galleries


Recent News