You are at AP CM Allotted Rs. 550 cr. for 10 lakh farm ponds

AP CM Allotted Rs. 550 cr. for 10 lakh farm ponds


The government has earmarked Rs. 550 crore for digging 10 lakh farm ponds in the State as part of measures to store rain water and utilise it for irrigation, Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu said on Wednesday. “The government has also allotted Rs. 2,000 crore for laying cement concrete roads for a length of 5,000 km,” he said at a Janmabhoomi - Maa Vooru programme here on Wednesday.

The Chief Minister promised completion of the Handri Neeva Sujala Sravanthi project and the Siddhapuram lift-irrigation scheme by June and the Muchumarri lift-irrigation by March. He added that the Kurnool-Chittoor national highway works would be completed by November. “The government will develop an education hub and has conceived an Urdu University and IIIT in Kurnool district. Nandyal will be developed as a seed capital. The government will also develop a food park, cement and industrial hubs and build an airport at Orvakal. Kurnool and Nandyal will be developed into smart cities,” Mr. Naidu said.

Despite his sincere efforts to develop the backward Rayalaseema region, some were spreading mala-fide propaganda that he was neglecting the region, he alleged. “Those leaders talk of injustice to the region while they are out of power and forget the issue when they gain power,” he added. Alleging that some MLAs had abused him and called him “Call CM” in the call money issue, he said people should ponder if such leaders should go to the Assembly. “The State will be ruined if people cooperated with such leaders,” he said.

The CM sanctioned a primary health centre at Deebaguntla. Incidentally, the villagers offered six acres for setting up the centre. He also directed the release of water to KC Canal to save standing crops.

Mr. Naidu promised to sanction 200 bore-wells with power connections in the village, provided 600 farm ponds were dug in the village. He also promised LPG connections to all poor under the Deepam scheme. Deputy Chief Minister K.E. Krishnamurthy, Minister K. Atchannaidu, MLA B.C. Janardhana Reddy, MLC Silpa Chakrapani Reddy, former Ministers Silpa Mohan Reddy and N.Md. Farooq, former ZP chairman P.P. Nagi Reddy and District Collector Ch. Vijayamohan were present.

Related News


Recent Galleries


Recent News