You are at MLC Election Results: TRS wins 5 seats, TDP-BJP Co...

MLC Election Results: TRS wins 5 seats, TDP-BJP Combine Loses!!


The ruling TRS in Telangana won five seats while main opposition Congress secured one seat in the election held on Monday to fill six vacancies in state Legislative Council.

TRS nominees Kadiam Srihari, Tummala Nageswara Rao, B Venkateswarlu, N Vidyasagar and K Yadava Reddy emerged victorious in the election, besides Akula Lalitha of Congress. However, Vem Narender Reddy of TDP-BJP combine lost the election.

The election generated a lot of interest as two ministers in the TRS government (K Srihari and Tummala Nageswara Rao) were in the fray and the ruling party was dependent on the support of other parties to get its fifth candidate elected. The election was marred by the arrest of TDP MLA A Revant Reddy on allegations of trying to bribe a nominated MLA.

Telangana IT and Panchayat Raj Minister K T Rama Rao had spoken to leaders of MIM, CPI, CPI(M) and also YSR Congress president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy seeking their support for the victory of its fifth candidate, a release from his staff had said. YSR Congress declared its support to TRS in the poll.

Congress won the election as it had adequate strength in the Legislative Assembly. TDP floor leader in Telangana Legislative Assembly, E Dayakar Rao alleged the TRS indulged in unethical practices to win the election, a charge denied by the ruling party.

Related News


Recent Galleries


Recent News