You are at GHMC Results: TRS sweeps, Congress and TDP decimat...

GHMC Results: TRS sweeps, Congress and TDP decimated


The Telangana Rashtra Samiti completed a near complete sweep of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation elections by winning 99 out of the 150 seats. The final tally was TRS: 99, MIM: 44, BJP: 04, Congress: 02, TDP: 01. It was a riot of pink colour at the Banjara Hills party office of the TRS as celebrating party workers trooped there to burst crackers, distribute sweets and spray gullal in the air.

The Congress which won 50 seats in 2009 did not touch double digits. One of the final results was that of Puranapul which was on by the MIM with a margin of 2878 votes. The MIM which played the kingmaker in earlier GHMC elections retained its bastion by winning 44 seats. The BJP has won four seats while its ally TDP won the lone seat of KPHB, down from the earlier 50 seats held by both the parties.

TrendsWon2009 position
Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS)--990
Telugu Desam Party (TDP)--0145
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)--0405
All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM)--4443
Congress (INC)--0252

The counting of votes began in 23 of the 24 counting centres at 3 p.m. on Friday. In the first round, officials tabulated and counted the postal ballots before taking up the count of votes logged in Electronic Voting Machines. There is a security blanket around all the counting centres with no electronic gadgets being allowed inside the halls where the GHMC staff and political agents are tabulating votes in the 150 wards where elections were held on February 2.

Related News


Recent Galleries


Recent News