You are at Centre Announces 3rd List Of Smart Cities: 27 Citi...

Centre Announces 3rd List Of Smart Cities: 27 Cities Qualify From 12 States


Union Minister of Urban Development Venkaiah Naidu on Tuesday released the third list of smart cities. The new list accommodates 27 cities from 12 states, the minister said. Naidu told reporters that 27 out of the 63 participating cities qualified for this financial year. The cities were put through three rounds of tough competition where they were evaluated on a variety of factors.

“With this announcement, a total investment of Rs.1,44,742 cr has been proposed by 60 cities under smart city plans,” said Naidu.

The smart cities list includes 5 cities from Maharashtra, 4 each from Tamil Nadu and Karnataka, 3 from Uttar Pradesh, 2 each from Punjab, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh, and one each from Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Gujarat, Nagaland and Sikkim.

Smart cities list announced by the Centre: Agra, Ajmer, Amritsar, Aurangabad, Gwalior, Hubli-Dharwad, Jalandhar, Kalyan-Dombiwali, Kanpur, Kohima, Kota, Madurai, Mangaluru, Nagpur, Namchi,Nashik,Rourkela,Salem,Shivamogga,Thane, Thanjavur,Tirupati,Tumakuru,Ujjain,Vadodara,Varanasi,Vellore.

Related News


Recent Galleries


Recent News