You are at Anurag Thakur Takes Over As BCCI President

Anurag Thakur Takes Over As BCCI President

Days after Shashank Manohar was chosen as the chief of the ICC and his post lied vacant, Anurag Thakur was unanimously chosen as the next president of the BCCI on Sunday. Thakur has become the youngest chief of the apex cricketing board and will take care of the proceeding of the much celebrated sport in the country.

The decision to elect the new chief of The Board of Control for Cricket in India was taken a Special General Meeting in the financial capital on Monday. It was widely expected that Thakur will be replacing Manohar once the post lies vacant. Thakur was chosen as the chief by the board, unopposed, by the all six east zone units chairman which also includes Indian cricketing Sourav Ganguly.

Earlier, Thakur had resigned for the post of Secretary of the Board and had got the signatures from all the zones chief from the zones, after completing the formalities required to fill the nomination for BCCI Chief in presence of Cricket Association of Bengal president. Soon after being chosen for the top post, all the member congratulated him and have asked him to further improve the status of cricket in India. During the meeting all the chairman of all the six east units, Cricket Association of Bengal, Assam CA, Tripura CA, NCC and Jharkhand SCA were present, along with the presence of other Board members.

Related News


Recent Galleries


Recent News